Open No-Code Kit

Hosting a WordPress Site on InfinityFree

(Disclaimer: I am not in any way affiliated with InfinityFree or any other company. I'm just writing about my experience.)

Although I have my own site in WordPress I didn't want to use it while messing around and discovering new WP themes, plugins, etc. To do that I needed a free site and after checking out various options I went for InfinityFree, mostly because I read some good reviews on Trust Pilot.

So far, the experience has been quite good. Installing WordPress on an InfinityFree subdomain was easy and straightforward. I was also able to get a SSL certificate in a matter of hours although not immediately because some things related to DNS (if I remember correctly) took a bit of time. This was clearly stated during the process so it wasn't a problem.

Both the admin side and the site itself are loading fast and working almost flawlessly.

I only encountered only three problems so far and I'm describing them here just in case someone reads this and has a solution:

  1. Not being able to Detach Block Patters in Gutenberg editor. Although I can create block patterns I found out that I cannot detach them from their elements because that option is simply missing. After asking about it in different forums nobody was able to help so I imagine this is something related to hosting. I tried replicating the same thing on TasteWP but everything worked correctly there.

  2. Not being able to load Kadence Design Library. I use Kadence theme and Kadence blocks and I found that I can't load Kadence Design Library in the editor. I keep getting the same message: "Error, Unable to access library, please reload this page in your browser." Again, this doesn't happen in TasteWp so it must be also related to hosting. I might ask in their forums about this and if I get an answer I'll post an update here.

  3. Occasional problems with loading images. The images on the site will occasionally fail to load but since I am using InfinityFree only for practice this doesn't concern me too much.

Apart from that, I'm quite happy with the experiences since everything else is working perfectly for the time being... I'll be starting my second site on the same platform soon.

Thoughts? Leave a comment